About the Sixteenth IWAC Conference

Welcome to the Sixteenth International Writing Across the Curriculum Conference. Pages with information about our theme, call for proposals, and registration are upcoming. 

IWAC is presented by the Association for Writing Across the Curriculum (AWAC). Prior to the formation of AWAC, the conference was managed by an independent group of conference directors. In 2018, the conference directors affiliated IWAC with the newly formed association. Learn more in Marty Townsend’s history of the IWAC conference

IWAC 2023’s planning committee is monitoring the COVID-19 pandemic and is committed to creating a safe environment for attendees. In addition to offering hybrid attendance options, organizers have developed a set of event policies all attendees are expected to adhere to. Please note these policies are subject to change based on updated guidance for the CDC and other relevant public health authorities. 

For more information, see our frequently asked questions page or contact us at iwac2023@gmail.com.

A Special Thanks

The IWAC 2023 planning committee and the Pearce Center for Professional Communication staff would like to offer a special thanks to Jean Pearce Rentz and Walker Pearce Maybank Buxton, whose generous gifts helped make IWAC 2023 possible. Their continued support is instrumental in the Pearce Center’s success. 

IWAC Diversity Statement

The International Writing Across the Curriculum Conference is committed to promoting a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion. As a group of scholars with diverse backgrounds and interests, the organizers, members of our governing committees, and members of our advisory board are committed to cultivating an academic community that is not limited by race, ethnicity, veteran status, marital status, socioeconomic level, national origin, religious belief, physical ability, sexual orientation, age, class, political ideology, or gender identity and expression.

We recognize and celebrate the benefits of uniqueness, similarities, and differences. We seek to foster transparency and openness throughout the proposal cycle. We seek to promote proposal review and presentation policies and practices that support diversity in its many forms. And we seek to encourage greater representation across cultures, backgrounds, and viewpoints. We do this in a manner that demonstrates respect and appreciation for all individuals, including their differences.

Conference Leadership

Conference Director: Cameron Bushnell, cbushne@clemson.edu 

IWAC 2023 Advisory Board

Al Harahap, University of Oklahoma

Alisa Russell, University of Kansas

Alyson Huff, Front Range Community College

Ann N. Amicucci, University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Anne Gere, University of Michigan

Arthur “Art” Young, Clemson University

Asao Inoue, Arizona State University

Brian Hendrickson, Roger Williams University

Caleb González, Ohio State University

Chelsea Murdock, Clemson University

Christopher Basgier, Auburn University

Dan L. Melzer, University of California Davis

Dave Blakesley, Clemson University

Donna Souder Hodge, Colorado State University Pueblo

Erin Beaver, Colorado Mountain College

Glenn Blalock, Texas A&M Corpus Cristi

Heather Falconer, University of Maine

Jill Dahlman, University of North Alabama

Joan Mullin, University of North Carolina Charlotte

Jordan Frith, Clemson University

Julia Chen, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Justin Nicholes, University of Wisconsin Stout

Kathleen Yancey, Florida State University

Magnus Gustafsson, Chalmers University of Technology

Marty Townsend, University of Missouri

Maureen A. Mathison, University of Utah

Megan J. Kelly, University of Denver

Mike Palmquist, Colorado State University

Michael Pemberton, Georgia Southern University

Michelle Trillium Crow, Cornell University

Pamela Childers, The McCallie School

Pamela Flash, University of Minnesota

Susan Thomas, The University of Sydney, Australia

Tara Wood, University of Northern Colorado

Terry Myers Zawacki, George Mason University

Traci Gardner, Virginia Tech

Clemson University Land Acknowledgement Statement

We acknowledge that the main campus of Clemson University occupies the traditional and ancestral land of the Cherokee People. Clemson’s main campus is built on land seized through US military and diplomatic incursions culminating in the Treaty of Dewitt’s Corner in 1777. This is also land on which people enslaved by the Pickens, Clemson, and Calhoun families lived and worked, and that was transformed into the campus of Clemson University through convict labor. 

We make this acknowledgement to remember the histories of violence that anticipate our gathering here, to recognize Indigenous and Black claims to life and land, and to recenter those claims as we commit to better ways of caring for each other and for this land. 

Along with this acknowledgement, we ask: what responsibilities and commitments can we make to foster more honest and generative relations with this land and with each other? Can we, wherever we go, acknowledge Indigenous claims to the land we occupy? Can learning about the lifeways and lifeworlds of the original and rightful caretakers of the land we occupy guide our own changing relation with the places we are and the communities that belong to those places? How can we share our learning with others?

*Statement courtesy of Decolonize Clemson. This statement has not been officially adopted by Clemson University’s administration as of the time of publication.

Department of Communication logo featuring a tiger paw.
CECAS logo featuring an orange tiger paw.

IWAC 2023 would also like to offer special thanks to: 

Clemson University Press


Hawkes Learning 

Special Interest Group for Design of Communication